Healing and Moving Forward

Unapologetically Surviving is a participant in the Amazon Associates and Bookshop Affiliate Program, designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees. The links below are affiliate links, which means we make a small commission (at no extra cost to you!) if you make a purchase. 

Intimate Partner Violence

It’s My Life Now: Starting Over After an Abusive Relationship or Domestic Violence by Meg Kennedy Dugan and Roger R Hock [Amazon | Unavailable on Bookshop]

It’s My Life Now offers readers the practical guidance, emotional reassurance, and psychological awareness that survivors of relationship abuse and domestic violence need to heal and reclaim their lives after leaving their abusers.

Child Sexual Abuse

Heal for Life by Liz Mullinar [Amazon | Unavailable on Bookshop]

Heal for Life will help you understand trauma, how it creates emotional triggers, how to ‘de-trigger’ and feel safe, and how to permanently overcome and heal childhood trauma. The Heal for Life Model has already empowered 8,500 survivors of childhood trauma or abuse find inner peace and hope for a brighter future.

Healing My Life from Incest to Joy by Donna Jenson [Amazon | Unavailable on Bookshop]

In chronicling the physical and spiritual steps she took to reclaim her life and peel away the layers of damage done by incest, Jenson has written a powerful narrative of one person’s healing journey. And though the subject matter is deeply serious, Jenson writes with her sense of humor firmly intact, reminding us that joy is possible in the face of great pain. Poignant, brave, and helpful, Healing My Life offers a much-needed testimony for anyone affected by or concerned about childhood sexual abuse.

Emotional Abuse

Escaping Emotional Abuse by Beverly Engel [Amazon | Bookshop]

Emotionally abused people are gradually stripped of self-esteem, dignity, and humanity–making them feel unworthy and utterly powerless to escape. But they possess a potent tool with which to combat shame: self-compassion. In these pages, Engel shows how to access it. Using her highly effective Shame Reduction Program, she helps readers jumpstart the process of recovery by offering specific steps to help heal, regain self-confidence–and ultimately become empowered enough to leave–for good.

Signs of Emotional Abuse: How to Recognize the Patterns of Narcissism, Manipulation, and Control in Your Love Relationship by Barrie Davenport [Amazon | Bookshop]

The first step toward improving your situation is knowing what you’re dealing with. Once you recognize the signs of emotional abuse, you can create new boundaries and responses to your partner’s behavior and make informed decisions about your life moving forward. In Signs of Emotional Abuse, you’ll learn: 9 common patterns of emotional abuse; 125 specific emotionally abusive behaviors; 7 critical questions to ask yourself about your abusive partner; the next steps after you identify emotional abuse by your partner; and the best support resources to help you move forward


Braving the Wilderness: The Quest for True Belonging and the Courage to Stand Alone by Brené Brown [Amazon | Bookshop]

In Braving the Wilderness, Brown redefines what it means to truly belong in an age of increased polarization. With her trademark mix of research, storytelling, and honesty, Brown will again change the cultural conversation while mapping a clear path to true belonging.

Rising Strong: How the Ability to Reset Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead by Brené Brown [Amazon| Bookshop]

Walking into our stories of hurt can feel dangerous. But the process of regaining our footing in the midst of struggle is where our courage is tested and our values are forged. Our stories of struggle can be big ones, like the loss of a job or the end of a relationship, or smaller ones, like a conflict with a friend or colleague. Regardless of magnitude or circumstance, the rising strong process is the same: We reckon with our emotions and get curious about what we’re feeling; we rumble with our stories until we get to a place of truth; and we live this process, every day, until it becomes a practice and creates nothing short of a revolution in our lives. Rising strong after a fall is how we cultivate wholeheartedness. It’s the process, Brown writes, that teaches us the most about who we are. 

When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times by Pema Chodron [Amazon | Bookshop]

How can we live our lives when everything seems to fall apart—when we are continually overcome by fear, anxiety, and pain? The answer, Pema Chödrön suggests, might be just the opposite of what you expect. Here, in her most beloved and acclaimed work, Pema shows that moving toward painful situations and becoming intimate with them can open up our hearts in ways we never before imagined. Drawing from traditional Buddhist wisdom, she offers life-changing tools for transforming suffering and negative patterns into habitual ease and boundless joy.

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur [Amazon | Bookshop]

The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

Love Warrior: A Memoir by Glennon Doyle Melton [Amazon | Bookshop]

A memoir of betrayal and self-discovery by bestselling author Glennon Doyle, Love Warrior is a gorgeous and inspiring account of how we are all born to be warriors: strong, powerful, and brave; able to confront the pain and claim the love that exists for us all. This chronicle of a beautiful, brutal journey speaks to anyone who yearns for deeper, truer relationships and a more abundant, authentic life.

Eleven After Eleven by Jasmine Dine [Amazon | Unavailable on Bookshop]

Eleven after eleven illustrates the face of trauma in 4 self-reflective stages, refusing to decorate the uncomfortable. In this collection, each stage of growth is woven amongst the others, as chapters of life usually are. Every life has a narrative; this tale has 4, when things were rough it was 1, and after it was more. This inward gaze at abuse and long-term recovery blooms into an invitation to shift the narrative of your own life by using the healing magic of words in cultivating the power that you already have to influence your daily experience.

Return to Book Recommendations Home |Survivor Memoirs | Workbooks & Journals | Books About Facing Trauma| Fiction Books | Non-Fiction Books